It is with the deepest sadness and regret that we must inform you that Helen Roberts (Geography and Careers) passed away
on Saturday 4th March having been diagnosed with terminal cancer just a few weeks earlier.

The funeral service will take place at St. Andrew’s Church, Cheadle Hulme, SK8 5ET on 28th March at 1pm.

The funeral cortège will pass the school at 12.30pm

BAFB staff and pupils will line the inside and outside of the perimeters along Burnage Lane to pay their respects.

Any former students, Parents and Carers wishing to join us in paying their respects at this time
are invited to do so by standing on the opposite side of the road.

Please do not park your vehicle near school or on Burnage Lane. 

A+ A A-

Members of Teaching Staff


Ms R. Taylor - Head of Maths
Ms D. Flitcroft - Maths Teacher
Ms V. Horne - Maths Teacher / SEN Coordinator
Mr S. Roscoe - Maths Teacher
Ms J. Furlong - Maths Teacher / KS4 Coordinator
Mr M. Khan - Lead Teacher
Mr U. Saleem - Maths Teacher / KS3 Coordinator
Ms D. Broderick - Assistant Head / Maths Teacher
Ms G. Stark - Maths Teacher
Mr R. Lundy - Maths Teacher 
Mr C. Edwards - Maths Teacher 
Mr P. Shrestha - Maths Teacher



Ms E. Brown - Joint Head of English Faculty
Ms H. Carter - Assistant Head / English Teacher
Ms H. J. Roberts - Joint Head of English Faculty
Mr M. Spann - English Teacher
Mr C. Lewis – English Teacher
Ms C. MacIntyre – English Teacher
Ms L. Guisasola – English Teacher
Ms E. Meyer – Head of Milner Literacy Initiative
Ms S. Graham – English Teacher / Gifted and Talented coordinator
Ms A. Pearson – English Teacher / SEN coordinator



Mr B. Hazzard - Head of Science Faculty
Ms S. Hardy - Joint Second in Science
Mr M. Cooper - Science Teacher / KS4 coordinator
Ms K. Mason - Joint Second in Science
Ms L. Smith - Lead Teacher  
Ms A. Sacks - Science Teacher 
Ms N. Mohamed - Science Teacher  
Ms E. Palin - Science Teacher / KS3 coordinator
Ms D. Stephenson - Science Teacher
Ms C. McHugh - Science Teacher
Mr A. Ahmed - Lead Teacher
Mr I Ross - Deputy Head  / Science Teacher
Ms K. Al-Rawni - Science Teacher
Ms K. Maysmoor - Science Teacher / SEN coordinator


Modern Foreign Languages

Mr G. Morrison - Head of Faculty
Mr M. Younas - Head of Urdu
Mr J. Musampa - Teacher of French
Mr A. Khan - Teacher of Urdu
Ms S. Hassall - Teacher of French


Performing Arts

Ms A. Boyd - Head of Arts and Performance
Ms L. Durici - Head of Music
Ms J. Spencely - Head of Art
Mr R. Lawther - Teacher of Drama
Mr B. Sumner - Art Teacher



Mr S. Morrissey - Head of Technology Faculty
Ms Y. Ahmed - Teacher of ICT
Mr S. Bentley - Head of Design & Technology
Ms C. Doyle - Teacher of Food Technology
Mr L. Crowther - Teacher of Food Technology
Mr P. Iqbal - Teacher of DT & Resistant Materials / Head of Pastoral Team
Ms A. Hughes - Teacher of Design & Technology
Mr J. Hyde - Teacher of D&T and ICT


Physical Education

Mr A. Trainor - Head of Dept
Mr J. Hylton - Teacher of PE
Mr P. Johnson - Teacher of PE
Mr D. Lingenfelter - Assistant Headteacher / Teacher of PE
Mr S. Pigeon - Teacher of PE



Ms M. Wiener - Head of Faculty
Ms D. Atherton-Spence - Head of SRS
Ms Z. Clarke - Teacher of SRS
Mr M. Rogers - Assistant Headteacher / Teacher of History
Ms J. Gillen - Teacher of History
Ms H. Roberts - Teacher of Geography / Head of Careers
Mr S. Shropshire - Teacher of Business / ICT
Ms N. Duncalf - Acting Head of History
Mr P. Slater - Head of Business



Ms E. Farr - Head of Faculty
Ms M. Cregeen - EAL Teacher / Second in Faculty
Ms T. Khan - EAL Teacher / Teacher of English / Manager of year 11 INA Project


Translate BAfB Website

News & Events

Fake News on the BBC School Report

Fake News on the BBC School Report

Burnage Academy students made the news for real on 16 March 2017... Read more

BAfB Year 7 Catch-Up Premium 2015-16

BAfB Year 7 Catch-Up Premium 2015-16

We identified 56 pupils who were eligible for the catch-up premium in... Read more